I am just trying 1

So this is my first posting and I am simply trying to figure it all out. I am working on writing children’s books also.

My thoughts for today are on figuring this blog stuff out as I always write on paper. so, this is a trial run of getting used to doing it in a blog.

I plan on writing on several subjects.  Today i wonder how the state of North Carolina can ignore the needy and homeless with mental health and substance abuse problems. The funding is despicable and vast numbers of people go with out care.  I used to work as a LCSW in New York State where people got housing, care, cash assistance. This state seems to live by the motto “survival of the fittest” as people who have applied for disability go without any funding to help them get by. My heart aches every day for this people who everyone seems to just ignore. The charity programs are overwhelmed by the demand so people go without housing, food,etc.  I just don’t know how someone can turn their backs on people.  As a therapist , I listen to their stories andI can understand why they got into this situations.  It isn’t about being lazy; it’s about trauma and neglect during their early years. Can’t we all see that children who are neglected, unloved, beaten, traumatized do not grow up knowing how to nurture and take care of themselves.  They grow up learning to numb their pain, act out, etc.  IT feels better to get this off my chest.

About pamster55

I have meditated since age 11 and have loved everything about nature since very young. I was a licensed clinical social worker for 27 years working with children, adolescents, adults, students, families and couples. I maintain a small private practice now. I am very committed to the environment and using my education and experience to make this world a better place. I love reading and writing, sewing, knitting, drawing and painting. Creativity and nature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am just trying 1

  1. joannayla says:

    Glad it helped to get that off your chest. It is amazing the difference in the scope of services available in different states. That is one thing that NY is doing better with. I love your fern photo and need to figure out how to get one on my blog.

Leave a Reply

