Guidance from Nature

shanti 075When I am out in nature, I often receive guidance either through my own inner guidance system or through contact with nature.  For example, one day I was walking in the park with my dogs and came upon a small turtle.  This turtle was in a place I had never seen one before.  The first thought that came to me was stop trying to make things happen as slow and steady wins the race.  This is meaningful to me in that I am prone to making things happen. After all, I am an Aries! This lesson has presented itself to me in many ways over the last year.  I became very ill and was unable to do many of the things I have always done.  Letting go and trusting the process is a huge teaching for me.  Listening to my inner guidance more often is also a lesson that slowing down teaches me.  Too often we are seduced my the hustle and bustle of society which is a huge producer of stress and we become so used to it that we think it is normal.  We wonder why we can’t figure things out or why we get upset so easily.  It is so often due to the need to slow down and listen to our own inner guidance.  We seek guidance from others because we can’t quiet ourselves or trust ourselves enough to look inside and ask the questions.  One of the lessons I learned from being ill is that life is better when lived more simply.  We think we need a huge closet full of clothes or all the toys we can accumulate or all the books on everyone’s reading list.  However, we can get caught up in the accumulation process and never  really dive in and enjoy what we have.

Slow and steady is a pace that reaps many rewards for ourselves and others.  We are much easier to get along with when we are calmer.  We can hear what people are saying much better when we are calm.  I encourage everyone to consider spending time in  nature and slowing down.

About pamster55

I have meditated since age 11 and have loved everything about nature since very young. I was a licensed clinical social worker for 27 years working with children, adolescents, adults, students, families and couples. I maintain a small private practice now. I am very committed to the environment and using my education and experience to make this world a better place. I love reading and writing, sewing, knitting, drawing and painting. Creativity and nature are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guidance from Nature

  1. joannayla says:

    Thank you for these Important reminders. I forget this most often at work, which is why I have arranged to facilitate a group to teach people how to relax. I need daily reminders to just breathe. Nature is of course one of the best reminders to be mindful of the present…the gift of now.

Leave a Reply

