Fitting the pieces together

311795_10150446939473185_64655903184_10152486_433313131_nI was listening to music while sewing today and thought as I usually do.  Sewing is so healing and is such a metaphor for our healing journey.  We cut out pieces of ourselves at one point or another in our lives then we go back and sew the beautiful pieces of fabric together resulting in a work of art..  We don’t always see how everything goes together as we begin our project but, in the wholeness, the beauty is evident.

This is so much like our lives.  We may not be aware that we cut parts of ourselves out, especially when we are quite young, but trauma happens to almost everyone and pieces of ourselves are hidden deep deep away in some secret hideaway until we find the key to unlock the hurt and heal it into wholeness.

I have been a therapist for 20+ years and a recipient of a wide array of healing services over the years.  I know that I have received a great deal of healing and also facilitated this in others.  This allows me the privilege of seeing both sides of healing.  It is time for a life review of the process of healing and being healed.  One of my biggest frustrations when I worked as a therapist in mental health settings is the restrictive nature of the medical model.  We are taught to put people in little boxes with a host of diagnosis while telling ourselves that “we know best”.  This always bothered me. I found I was far more effective when I appreciated all my learning but saw the work with someone as a shared journey to find their truths and learn what they needed most for healing. Now I have friends who are psychiatrists so I am deeply appreciative of their education and expertise.  However, I have very seldom felt good about clients on medication.  Sometimes the side effects are as bad as or worse than the symptoms..  I have also heard from psychiatrists that someone will have to be on medication for the rest of their lives and I found this very sad.  I always felt there must be other ways of addressing these issues. My personal areas of study entailed: Holographic Repatterning, Perelandra processes, reiki, shamanic studies and Lightwave Healing.  Through these and other processes we can see that there are multiple modalities that are very useful in shifting our mental, emotional, spiritual and physical states including sound, light,movement, color, energywork with meridians and chakras, etc.   My own spiritual journey taught me that there are other realities, unseen influences on people, people or beings that possess or control what people see, think, hear, do.  I also know from personal experiences that hearing voices and guidance can come from beneficial spirits such as angels, devas, fairies and galactic beings from various levels of existence.  This is not something to medicate for but something to receive support in understanding and addressing.

One of the most striking examples of this was a woman I saw years ago who has since passed away(I trust she is in good hands).  This woman was diagnosed as Bipolar Disorder with Psychotic Features.  We worked together for many years with good results.  She shared with me that she lived in multiple realities and gave me specific examples of these realities.  In one, she was still in an abusive relationship and going in and out of the mental hospital; in another reality, she worked successfully with me and recovered completely; in another she never was abused and so she was able to identify several realities that caused the doctors to deem her psychotic.  I did not do this but suggested we try to work on her having more control over this.  She agreed and mentioned that she also wanted to enjoy this reality. Our work focused on these goals with excellent success.  I found that this was a most helpful therapeutic approach in which the client made great gains.

The reason I feel compelled to share this is to gently nudge other therapists and psychiatrist to release the strict adherence to a system that may not always provide what a person needs.  Now I know there will probably always be a group of people who are most comfortable with taking a pill to relieve their symptoms but I know, from my years in the field, that there are so many more who hate taking a pill and thinking they have to be the way they are for the rest of their life and hate the fact that someone said this to them. I know there are people who, if they could, would take the courageous step to open themselves to new and old types of healing work that would not only alleviate their symptoms but help them find fulfillment, joy, and contentment. I certainly know that I can’t be the only therapist saying this and, for that, I am relieved. The other important point I wish to make is my loving deep respect for all my colleagues in the field of mental health. I truly believe that each of us has our own journey to walk and has many many gifts that we offer to others. That being said, I just feel better expressing my point of view which is a passion in and of itself. LOL!

About pamster55

I have meditated since age 11 and have loved everything about nature since very young. I was a licensed clinical social worker for 27 years working with children, adolescents, adults, students, families and couples. I maintain a small private practice now. I am very committed to the environment and using my education and experience to make this world a better place. I love reading and writing, sewing, knitting, drawing and painting. Creativity and nature are my passions.
This entry was posted in healing, mental health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fitting the pieces together

  1. Thank you Pamster.There are many paths to health and healing. So much of our work is intuitive. Sometimes I am aware of this and sometimes not. Thanks for the wisdom.

    • pamster55 says:

      You are most welcome. It feels good to express this thoughts and opinions as I now feel more free in expressing myself now that I am not actively working in a “System” It’s been hard to work one way in private practice while maintaining a foot in the medical model, and never wanting to cause too much of an uproar. I look forward to an open forum with those who are willing when the time comes.

  2. Pingback: Fitting the pieces together | My Blog I am just trying to figure it out~

  3. kim galpin says:

    Another well written post on your blog which I am on the same page with! I am SO enjoying reading these Pam. Thank you!

  4. pamster55 says:

    So happy you enjoy them Kim~!

Leave a Reply

