Peonies

 I just started this stream of consciousness writing prompt and this week’s prompt is to write about something that starts with the letter,”P” so I came up with peonies.  How I love them!!! They are so beautiful when they flower and the smell is heavenly.  It was always one of the signs that summer was starting.  I would cut the new ones so carefully and bring them into the house. You had to make sure there were no ants on them as ants seem to be necessary for the blooming process.  The smell just fills the house and I have to say you it is a divine smell.  I find it intoxicating and just put my face in the flower breathing it in.  There are so many smells that I love and fill my spirit.  Peonies seem to rank right up there with Jasmine, Hyacinth, Lavender, Plumeria, Sandalwood, my favorite Blue Pearl Classic Champa incense.  I am very sensitive to smells and have always noticed their immediate influence on me.  I love the smells of the woods after it rains; the moisture brings out all of different tree smells and the old wood smells, the pine trees, and the moist earth.  I love the smell of puppies and babies.  I don’t know if they smell innocent or if we just associate their smell with innocence.  I love the smell of essential oils especially when I am cleaning with them.  And who can forget how wonderful fresh baked bread smells?  Nothing quite like it. I currently live near the ocean and the smell of the salt water is so cleansing and purifying.  I often go to the beach when I want to clear my mind and soul.  Just breathing in the air and listening to the surf seems to clear so much for me.  I wonder if other people get intoxicated by smells like I do.  I used to use a diffuser to put essential oils in the air in my home.  I watched to see if it made an impact on anyone. It seemed to mellow people out as far as I could tell.   Well, I believe I have completed my task for this writing prompt.  It was fun.

About pamster55

I have meditated since age 11 and have loved everything about nature since very young. I was a licensed clinical social worker for 27 years working with children, adolescents, adults, students, families and couples. I maintain a small private practice now. I am very committed to the environment and using my education and experience to make this world a better place. I love reading and writing, sewing, knitting, drawing and painting. Creativity and nature are my passions.
This entry was posted in children and nature, environment, peace, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

